Published On: Tue, Aug 13th, 2019

Carabao Cup 2nd round draw LIVE: Newcastle, West Ham, Everton, Leeds, Leicester learn fate | Football | Sport

Carabao Cup 2nd round draw LIVE: Express Sport brings you LIVE coverage as it happens


21:10: Hello everyone and welcome to our LIVE coverage of the Carabao Cup second-round draw.

Manchester City, Manchester United, Arsenal, Chelsea, Tottenham, Liverpool and Wolves will not be involved tonight because of their Champions League and Europa League campaigns.

But 13 Premier League sides WILL learn their fate as the weird and wonderful world of a Carabao Cup draw unfolds at around 21:45.

Now we’ve not got the bizarre and unlikely double act of John Barnes and Ray Parlour drawing the balls at a Morrisons in north-west London – but it should be good nonetheless.

When is the Carabao Cup draw?

The Carabao Cup second round draw will take place on Tuesday August 13 2019.

The draw will be conducted at the Peninsula Stadium following the conclusion of Salford City’s first round showdown with Leeds United.

That game is scheduled to get underway at 7.45pm (BST) so, providing penalties are not required, the draw should begin around 9.35pm.

Sky Sports presenter Laura Woods will host the draw, which will be broadcast live on Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Football.

Who can face who?

Premier League, Championship, League One and League Two clubs can be drawn against each other in any combination.

However, the draw will once again be regionalised into north and south sections to reduce travel times for supporters.

When are the second round fixtures?

The Carabao Cup campaign will draw to a close on Sunday March 1 2019.

So, in order to get everything done before then, the second round fixtures will take place in the week commencing Monday August 26.

Ball numbers – North Section

1. Aston Villa, 2. Burnley, 3. Everton, 4. Leicester, 5. Newcastle, 6. Sheffield United, 7. Tranmere or Hull, 8. Grimsby or Doncaster, 9. Wigan or Stoke, 10. Port Vale or Burton, 11. Nottingham Forest or Fleetwood, 12. Bradford or Preston, 13. Blackpool or Macclesfield, 14. Blackburn or Oldham, 15. Mansfield or Morecambe, 16. Accrington or Sunderland, 17. Scunthorpe or Derby, 18. Rochdale or Bolton, 19. Huddersfield or Lincoln, 20. Middlesbrough or Crewe, 21. Shrewsbury or Rotherham, 22. Sheffield Wednesday or Bury, 23. Salford or Leeds, 24. Barnsley or Carlisle

Ball numbers – South Section

1. Bournemouth, 2. Brighton, 3. Cardiff, 4. Crystal Palace, 5. Fulham, 6. Norwich, 7. Southampton, 8. Watford, 9. West Ham, 10. Portsmouth, 11. Colchester or Swindon, 12. Wimbledon or MK Dons, 13. Oxford or Peterborough, 14. QPR or Bristol City, 15. Plymouth or Leyton Orient, 16. Wycombe or Reading, 17. Charlton or Forest Green, 18. Gillingham or Newport, 19. Stevenage or Southend, 20. Luton or Ipswich, 21. Walsall or Crawley, 22. Bristol Rovers or Cheltenham, 23. Brentford or Cambridge, 24. Coventry or Exeter, 25. Swansea or Northampton, 26. West Brom or Millwall

Source link